Please verify your email address to receive email notifications.

Enter your email address

We have sent you a verification email. Please check your inbox and spam folder.

Unable to send verification, please refresh and try again later.

  • Q&A with Australian Health Practitioners

    What are the different types of leukaemia?

  • Find a professional to answer your question

  • 5


    Established in Queensland in 1975, the Leukaemia Foundation is the only national organisation dedicated to the care and cure of patients and families living with … View Profile

    Leukaemias are broadly classified by how quickly the disease develops, and by the type of blood cell involved.

    •     Acute leukaemias develop quickly and need to be treated urgently.
    •     Chronic leukaemias develop more slowly and may not need to be treated for   some time after they are diagnosed.
    •     Myeloid leukaemias arise in immature blood cells called myeloblasts.
    •     Lymphoid leukaemias arise in immature blood cells called lymphoblasts

    Therefore there are four main types of leukaemia:
    •     Acute myeloid leukaemia (AML)
    •     Acute lymphoblastic leukaemia (ALL)
    •     Chronic myeloid leukaemia (CML)
    •     Chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (CLL)

answer this question

You must be a Health Professional to answer this question. Log in or Sign up .

You may also like these related questions

Ask a health question

Empowering Australians to make better health choices