Verify your email address to receive email notifications.

Verification sent. Please check your inbox to verify your address.

Unable to send verification. Please try again later.

  • Q&A with Australian Health Practitioners

    What are the different types of cerebral palsy?

  • Find a professional to answer your question

  • Dr Michelle O'Brien

    Speech Pathologist

    We assist children develop speech, language, pre-literacy and literacy skills in readiness for life. We provide comprehensive speech pathology assessments and therapy in a relaxed … View Profile

    Hi, There are 4 main types of cerebral palsy that relate to the type of muscle tone a child or adult has.  They are flaccid (whereby the muscles are very floppy), spastic (whereby muscles are very tight - movement is jerky and effortful), athetoid (muscles vary from very floppy to very tight which means that coordination of muscles is very difficult).  The final type of CP is mixed whereby a person may have a mixture of one or more types of muscle tone.

    CP can also affect just the lower limbs, only one side of the body, or the whole body.

    I hope this answers your question.

    All the best,


  • jeddsmum

    HealthShare Member

    i have never heard of flaccid cerebral palsy before and you have missed out on Ataxic CP , the rarest type and the type my son has ……. as far as i am aware the 4 main types are , spastic , ataxic , athetoid & mixed. 
    am interested to see if there is another type of CP that i am not aware of , who can confirm this ?

answer this question

You must be a Health Professional to answer this question. Log in or Sign up .

You may also like these related questions

Ask a health question

Empowering Australians to make better health choices