Please verify your email address to receive email notifications.

Enter your email address

We have sent you a verification email. Please check your inbox and spam folder.

Unable to send verification, please refresh and try again later.

  • Q&A with Australian Health Practitioners

    What are the different types of lymphomas?

  • Find a professional to answer your question

  • 36


    Dr Duncan Carradice

    Haematologist (Blood Disorders Specialist), Medical Oncologist (Cancer Specialist)

    Duncan Carradice is a Haematologist committed to providing personalized clinical care for patients with lymphoma (Hodgkin and non-Hodgkin lymphoma), myeloma and other blood disorders. He … View Profile

    Lymphomas are cancers of the lymph gland system.

    The 2 type of lymphoma are Hodgkin lymphoma and non-Hodgkin's lymphoma.

    Hodgkin lymphoma more commonly affects younger people, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma more commonly middle aged or older people.

    Distinction between the (many) different type of lymphoma is very important. Some of them are treated very differently to others. Generally the treatment includes chemotherapy, and may also include radiotherapy in some people.

    The diagnosis of lymphoma is most commonly made only on a biopsy (sample of tissue from lymph node or other organ). Interpretation of biopsy for lymphoma is made by pathologist with expertise in lymphoma diagnosis, as diagnosing differnt lymphoma subtypes can be challenging.

    It is recommended that all diagnoses of lymphoma are reviewed by the treating haematologist/oncologist directly with a pathologist with lymphoma expertise, most commonly in a multi-disciplinary meeting (MDM), in order to decide the best treatment approach.

answer this question

You must be a Health Professional to answer this question. Log in or Sign up .

You may also like these related questions

Ask a health question

Empowering Australians to make better health choices