Gluten hides in a lot of very common foods in the Standard American Diet. In addition to avoiding the gluten containing grains like wheat, spelt, rye, barley, farro, kamut and semolina, you also need to watch out for the hidden gluten in many processed foods.
Avoiding wheat can be especially hard because this means you should avoid all wheat-based flours and ingredients. These include but are not limited to: White Flour, Whole Wheat Flour, Durum Wheat, Graham Flour, Triticale, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt, Wheat Germ, Wheat Bran. Common foods that are usually made with wheat include: Pasta, Couscous, Bread, Flour, Tortillas, Cookies, Cakes, Muffins, Pastries, Cereal, Crackers, Beer, Oats, Gravy, Dressings, Sauces.
This may seem like a long list, but there are still plenty of gluten-free foods out there! Choose from many fresh, healthy foods like fruits, vegetables, beans, dairy, nuts and gluten-free grains like quinoa or rice. There are also gluten-free versions of many of the foods above available in most grocery stores. You just have to look for them! Gluten Surprises you when may not expect it, but the following foods can also contain gluten: broth in soups and bouillon cubes, breadcrumbs and croutons, some lollies, fried foods, imitation fish, some lunch meats, and hot dogs, malt, matzo, modified food, starch another name for carbohydrate, one of the three main nutrients in food, seasoned chips and other seasoned snack foods, salad dressings, self-basting turkey soy sauce, seasoned rice and pasta mixes. There are also many addititves and ingredients in packaged foods that may contain gluten. Always check labels and ingredient lists for these. For a more comprehensive list of gluten-containing additives, contact your local coeliac support group. Other Tips to Remember: Don't forget that ingredients in food products change frequently, so always check the label before buying packaged foods. Remember that "wheat-free" does not automatically mean "gluten-free." While a product may not contain wheat, it can still contain rye or barley in some form. If you have any question about whether a food contains gluten, contact the manufacturer directly.
Report this post
You must be a Healthshare member to report this post.
to your account or
now (it's free).